Rio Celeste and La Fortuna Waterfall

Moment of silence for this breathtaking picture (still looks even better in real life)… Ok, As it is my last week in Costa Rica I really want to see some last few spots. For this trip I didn’t go by myself but went with a friend from the toucan rescue ranch. On Saturday morning we left in the morning to the bus station where we headed to La Fortuna where the Arenal volcano is located. If you have been following my blog , you know I already went there. This time however we wanted to go visit Rio Celeste, which is a beautiful turquoise waterfall and river in Guanacaste,Costa Rica (see top picture). To get there it is easy to go from La Fortuna by staying there for one night.

Remember last time I didn’t even see the volcano at all? Well this time it was so clear you could even see the tip of it! We were so lucky and took lots of photos right away. I finally understood why this spot is such a touristic location. It really has that perfect picture book look to it, just how you imagine a volcano.Then we went to the big waterfall here, that I didn’t visit last time I came. It was breathtakingly beautiful with the rainforest surroundings and then the water gushing right out of it. I definitely was glad I came to see this! After a photo shoot at the waterfall and a few hundred steps later we went back to our hostel had dinner and prepared for the tour to Rio Celeste the following day. I could eat casados here 24/7 it’s so healthy and always filling after a long day of adventures. Also the fruit smoothies (“batidos”) are so good here!!!

We booked a tour since getting to Rio Celeste is either really expensive (by taxi) or impossible without a private vehicle. We picked up some other girls and were on our way through the almost deserted landscape of northern Costa Rica. We just passed a few small houses and street vendors selling fruit. After about 1 1/2 hour ride we arrived at the National Park. First we stopped at an enormous tree, it really was the widest tree I have ever seen! Then before entering the park we were warned about the mud on the trail and I decided to rent rain boots. If you ever go there either take really old shoes you don’t mind getting dirty/muddy or rent boots, it was so worth it! There was so much mud it was crazy, I felt like a kid again jumping into the thick mud after a rain storm. It got even more muddy because we were rained on and like always I didn’t come prepared and forgot a rain coat.

First the trail starts easy leading through thick, cloudy forest and then many steps go down to the beautiful waterfall. The color was so bright it was surreal! After that the slippery and muddy part begins.,

when we continued to a bright blue lake and bubbly water, that reminded me of a whirl pool just that this was in nature. Sadly you can’t go into the water as the temperature changes from 40-70 C in seconds and it’s unpredictable! There was also a strong smell of (to me rotting) eggs being cooked, our guide liked the smell as it reminded him of a traditional breakfast of eggs,tortilla and coffee. I guess we were all ready for food by this time, the hike was harder than I expected!Lastly we reached the point where clear water meets upon the turquoise water. Everything looked like in a magical fairy world, with bright jungle colors bringing a contrast to the light blue of the water. I know, right? It looks like some movie scene for a Disney movie with tinker bell! 🙂 On our drive back we stopped at a swimming area where the water was a thick light blue. This wasn’t even in the National Park, since the river flows outside of it too. Here we took some more pictures and took a short swim, the water was quite cold though! We ended the tour with a traditional Casado (of course) and an amazing pineapple juice with it!

Every day I am amazed by the beauty of our planet and this country. Right now I am sitting in my cheap hostel by myself again. It is raining so hard I am a little nervous if my trip to Monteverde tomorrow will be possible! I booked a transport over the Arenal lake and I hope it won’t be flooded or the roads…This continues to be an adventure. I feel so grateful and happy to experience this all and being able to be here. It is unbelievable that I am only here for less than a week. This trip has helped me so much so far in building up my confidence, self love, responsibility etc. I hope the last few days will bring further positive experiences. For now I will try to get some sleep, I literally have an 8$ dorm all to myself!

One thought on “Rio Celeste and La Fortuna Waterfall

Leave a comment